Pregnancy Countdown – 34 days to go. The Low Down on Birthing Balls

Screen Shot 2013-12-09 at 13.25.11

Ok so I’m now officially over 35 weeks pregnant – and coming up to being nine months pregnant – who would have thought time would fly so quickly?

This week is all over getting the most out of my birthing ball – something you may have heard a lot about in your NCT classes or from your midwife. I sit on it as much as I possibly can!

A birthing ball is essentially a gym ball/swiss ball. I find it comfortable to sit on especially if I am working or watching the TV in the evening – as its uncomfortable to sit of hard chairs at the moment and I find it effort having to get up from my low sofa.

It also
* helps me to keep my posture in the right position,
* will help my baby get in the right position for birth and
* helps me to build strength and flexibility in my spine and thigh muscles.

When you sit on the ball you’ll also find that the legs naturally drop to the sides, so therefore open in the pelvis to its widest diameter and adds optimal foetal positioning in preparation for labor.

You can take it to the hospital to help with labor too! My mid-wife defiantely advised me to take it as sitting on the ball encourages a natural swaying motion of the pelvis, which helps the baby descend into the birth canal.

I also like it because the sitting position assumed on the ball, is very similar to the squat – which opens the pelvis and helps the birthing process.
The ball also supports your entire weight making it easier to breath and take pressure of the back.

I will most ceratinly be taking mine with me! One piece of advise though – just make sure it fits in your car before you make the trip to the hospital – that could be pretty embarrassing! I know one lady who had to get a cab to the hospital but leave her ball by the side of the road because there wasn’t enough room for it!

Need a birthing ball? Here are my top three gym balls.

Physical Company – Physical Stability Ball
Pretty in pink – this ball is manufactured from flexton®, a burst resistant material that has undergone static compression testing. 
£14.99; www.physicalcompany.co.uk
Screen Shot 2013-12-09 at 13.26.28

Reebok TWO TONE GYMBALL

The mid-wife won’t miss you in this! It’s suitable for users between 170cm and 185cm (5′ 7″ – 6′ 1″) in height and comes with a DVD for once the baby is born and you want to work on getting your pre-baby body back! 
£29.99; www.idealworld.tv

Screen Shot 2013-12-09 at 13.27.41

Technogym Wellness Ball
O
k, not the cheapest option I know, BUT it is made with special materials that favor perfect stability, traction and cushion during exercises. It also comes with its own bag, Pump and gauge for inflation, so if you can’t fit it in the car already inflated, you can do it at the hospital. 
£109; www.technogym.comScreen Shot 2013-12-09 at 13.24.26