This week’s meals….

We’re well and truly into the weaning – and I’m well and truly back into my old jeans. I’m back to 59’ish Kilos (I’ve never been a big fan of weighing) and in the last six weeks have lost 4.5% body fat. I’ve done this by eating lots of lean protein, green veg, good fats and working out 4-5 times a week. I said it before, and will say it again, it’s all about consistency. If you are eating well and exercising regularly, then you will lose fat. It helps that I’m getting more sleep these days as that stops those awful sugar cravings when you just need an instant hit of energy and I’ve really found that stopping eating in the evenings helps. Nowadays I have my dinner, then usually have a few spoonfuls of almond butter and a herbal tea before shutting the kitchen door and leaving it at that. It’s too easy to say ‘The baby is in bed – this is my time’ and eat food for comfort in front of the TV. The thing is I don’t find it comforting the next day when I’m beating myself up! I’d rather wake up full of energy and without a food hangover so I can get my workout in before Lacie wakes. I tend to do all her bottles and food in the evening too, which keeps me busy and organised for the next day….which leads me on to Lacie’s food.

So far, we have only been doing lunch. She has a feed usually around 6am and 9am, and then lunch is served at 12pm.

So far her favourite meal has to be banana, avocado and spinach, she can’t get enough! I’ve also tried other concoctions like sweet potato, butternut squash and carrot. She is also a big fan of pear and apple and tomorrow she has courgette, carrot and apple – just something I threw together. Could be interesting!

She’s also a huge fan of a little pudding after lunch (who isn’t?) I tend to blitz some organic berries with CO YO dairy-free coconut yogurt and chia seeds. This makes it nice and thick and filling, and I love chia seeds because they are full of omega 3 fats, protein, antioxidants and dietary fibre. They also hold water so will help keep Lacie’s tummy fuller for longer. She’s definitely a fan…and so am I!

She then tends to have a nice sleep (with a full belly), then has a bottle at 2:30ish, another feed at 5:30 and then a bottle before bed at 7:30. She’s certainly sleeping better (touch wood) now she’s on food and filling out a bit and even happier than before.

To say I was nervous about weaning is an understatement, but do you know what it’s great fun and I love being creative in the kitchen and giving her the best start I possibly can.

I will let you know how breakfast goes next week. I’m thinking colourful smoothie bowls, porridge with mashed banana and cinnamon and overnight oats, fruit and maybe even some scrambled eggs!

chia